CCMA Mission

To be the voice and promote the mission of the Church among students in higher education by empowering campus ministers through formation, networking and resources.

Support CCMA

Catholic Campus Ministry Association is a 501 (c) (3) non-profit organization under the United States Conference of Catholic Bishops.

The Reverend Charles Forsyth Award

The most prestigious award the Catholic Campus Ministry Association confers on a campus minister is the Rev. Charles Forsyth Award. Rev. Forsyth, or Charlie to his friends and colleagues, was a leader in campus ministry for three decades. He began as a Newman Chaplain after World War II, where he was wounded in action resulting in the loss of his right leg. Charlie became nationally known for his commitment to campus ministry.

Rev. Charles Forsyth, OSB
Among his many achievements, Rev. Charles Forsyth began a special ministry to minority students and initiated counseling services for all students. Rev. Charles Forsyth was very active in the National Newman Chaplain’s Association and served as the transitional president between the National Newman Chaplain’s Association and the forming of the Catholic Campus Ministry Association. After serving as the founding chair for CCMA, Rev. Charles Forsyth became the Director of the Campus Ministry Program in the Graduate School of Religious Education at Fordham University.

CCMA created the Rev. Charles Forsyth Award in 1974 and Charlie was its first recipient. Since that time, CCMA has bestowed the Forsyth Award on 27 campus ministers who demonstrated outstanding leadership in campus ministry on the local, regional and national level.

1974 Rev. Charles Forsyth, OSB
1975 Most Rev. Phillip Straling
1976 Rev. Kean D. Cronin
1977 Very Rev. Raymond B. Sullivan
1978 Sr. Margaret E. Conlin, SSJ
1979 Rev. John Bendik
1980 Br. Cosmas Rubencamp, CFX
1981 Sr. Noelle O’Shea, CSJ
1983 Rev. James Bettendorf
1984 Rev. Peter K. Meehan
1986 Rev. Bill Kerze and Sr. Brigid McGuigan, RSC
1987 Rev. George M. Schroeder
1988 Sr. Sarah Landis, IHM
1989 Michael Galligan-Stierle, Ph. D.
1990 Sr. Susan Spadinger, OSF
1991 Maureen Fuechtmann
1992 Rev. J. Joseph Quigley
1993 Carol Fowler
1994 Rev. Robert A. McLaughlin
1995 Rev. Albert Felice-Pace, OP
1996 Kathleen Kanavy
1997 Rev. John C. Weimer
1998 Rev. Msgr. Edward J. Duncan
2000 Barbara Humphrey McCrabb
2001 Rev. Charles Brinkman
2002 Rev. Vincent E. Krische
2003 Peter W. Morgan
2004 John B. Scarano
2005 Sr. Grace Walle, FMI
2006 Rev. Peter Scanlon
2008 Sr. Margaret Harig, SND
2010 Dee Bernhardt
2012 Rev. James J. Bacik

Back to Awards Program page